Whey and cream cheese from raw milk - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 09-01-2010, 10:31 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi, I'm just starting out with trying to switch to a traditional diet and I wanted to have some whey on hand. I followed the recipe in Nourishing Traditions to make whey and cream cheese from raw milk. The cream cheese smells pretty sour. I've added some sea salt and basil to it and stuck it in the fridge to see if it does any good. Does the fact that the cream cheese smells sour mean that the whey is no good? Or, can I still use it for soaking grains? What should the whey smell like? It's kind of the color of that nasty Mellow Yellow soda... Thanks!
#2 of 7 Old 09-02-2010, 02:54 PM

I'm doing my first batch, too, and was having the same questions! I'm looking forward to some guidance :-)
#3 of 7 Old 09-02-2010, 03:56 PM - Thread Starter

I can let you know one issue I had - I had thought that you just needed to wait for the cream to rise to the top. I put it through the towel / strainer way too early and it all strained through. I put it back to sit again and a day later it was obviously way more separate - yellowy and watery on the bottom and a custardy bubbly consistency on top. I did see somewhere else that if you use a warmer spot, it may separate sooner and be less sour. I don't know if I want to waste another half gallon of raw milk though to try again. I'm using the whey but will never be able to eat the cheese...:Puke

I think next time I'll try it with yogurt - I'll make yogurt with my raw milk and then make the whey and cream cheese with that...fun stuff! I feel like I'm back in science class
#4 of 7 Old 09-02-2010, 06:36 PM

I made some awhile back and posted it on my blog with pictures. I'm guessing it's a little yellowish...not sure.

It's under the yogurt cream cheese and whey link...there's not much on the site, so it's really easy to find.