NT or Paleo Meal planning - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 12-13-2010, 12:46 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi wise mamas. I am new to the forum and have enjoyed reading lots of the threads already. I really enjoy eating food as (in my opinion) it was meant to be eaten. I am still learning though. I would love to really start sprouting and soaking, but it seems like a BIG task to start. I also need to see how to work it into a real meal plan. It is only me and my 2.5 year old son, Skylar at home--so we end up doing lots of leftovers and freezing. I just need to get into the cycle of planning out our meals for shopping and prep. purposes.

Would anyone be willing to share some meal planning tips and examples with me? Any other advice that makes this undertaking seem less daunting would be appreciated!

Thanks you!

Warmly, Jessica

#2 of 4 Old 12-13-2010, 01:06 PM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)

Weeell, I'm not hardcore TF (I don't sprout, or soak everything), but I can give you a few tips.

-Do you like roast chicken? Have it once a week. When the meat's nearly all gone, pop the carcass in a crockpot full(ish) of cold water, add a splash of vinegar and any eggshells you have lying around, and cook for 24-36 hours. Strain out the bones, and you have a whole yummy bunch of chicken stock. That night (plan it one, two or three nights after you eat the roast chicken, depending how long it takes you to get through the meat and so on), use some of the stock to make soup, or to cook brown rice for a rice-based dish, or to cook (presoaked) kidney beans, chickpeas, lentils or whatever. Freeze the rest of the stock in muffin tins (very convenient!) and use them to put in sauces and so on.