How to eliminate phytic acid in foods - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 12-06-2011, 04:56 PM - Thread Starter

Location: A state whose Medicaid does not cover circumcision! :)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)

I am just starting to learn about phytic acid, I've been reading on Westonaprice.org about it.  My family loves beans, rice, oatmeal and grits, as well as pasta, and I am trying to figure out how I can still cook with these things at least occasionally and eliminate most of their phytic acid content so it is not harmful.  So, how do you do it?   How I have always prepared beans is boil them for 3 minutes, put a lid on the pan and let them sit overnight, rinse them in the morning, then boil them in fresh water til soft.  Does this eliminate most of the phytic acid?  Someone who knows more about this stuff, please teach me!!

I also am interested in knowing more about how to make bone broths and fermenting foods.  I would really appreciate a lesson in all of this!

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-06-2011, 05:10 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)

This blog has a ton of info on traditional food prep as well as classes you can sign up for.

Broths:  http://gnowfglins.com/2011/12/05/healing-homemade-broths-and-stocks/

You can also just Google soaking grains and it will take you to some good traditional, nourishing foods sites.

Old 12-07-2011, 08:04 AM

Hi! I've recently started doing this religiously and spent a lot of time figuring it out, so I'm excited to be able to share the information. I use this chart for preparing grains and legumes, it's a lifesaver (you are supposed to purchase it so it has a trademark across the middle, but you can still see the content easily): 

http://www.cookingforwell-being.com/Chart_files/sample-chart.pdf