Thoughts on TF and helping others, spreading the word, etc. - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 03-30-2012, 07:58 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I have kind of a rambling question. I am fairly new to TF. I ate low carb for years, then adapted to kind of a primal style of eating and have recently (in the last 5-6 months) embraced more of a TF way of eating. It's an evolution - first the grains and sugar went with low carb, then any low carb processed products when I went primal, and now I've added fermented foods, sprouted grains, raw milk, etc. So I don't see it as all over the place, more as a gradual change.

Anyway, as I learn and read I become more and more passionate about how our food system is so off track, how marketing encourages toxic foods, how politics shapes what we eat, etc.

I read an article this morning about extremism in eating. How extremism can hurt a cause because "regular" people can't relate and they find it so far from their normal eating that they just dismiss it as crazy. And I get that, because 5 years ago I was eating a low-fat, vegetarian type diet that I thought was balanced and healthy. I would have looked at TF eaters as really "out there." But now I'm "out there" and I can't decide if I should be shouting from the rooftops or just doing my thing, comfortable in my newly gained knowledge (and much improved health).