Bone broth - how do you use it? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 04-26-2012, 06:29 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm new to bone broth. I've made a few batches and used one to make a really good potato leek soup, but otherwise I'm not really sure what to do with it. I imagined heating it up and having my kids sip it from a mug (before I was TF we used to make soup from bullion and they loved it like that) but the stock is not that yummy and MSG-filled so my kids aren't going to drink it straight.

Besides copious amounts of soup, how do you incorporate bone broth into your kids diets? Or maybe I'm just not that good at it....do you make bone broth tasty enough to sip from a mug? Mine taste very earthy and marrow-y.

#2 of 5 Old 04-27-2012, 11:36 AM

Quoted: 12 Post(s)

My chicken bone broth would be good to sip in cool weather if the fat were skimmed off. Broth is good in sauces and instead of water for cooking rice, or you can serve soup with more of your meals. Do you salt yours? Sea salt or plain salt is fine in moderate amounts. Also you can put some onion, carrot, celery, parsley, etc in (maybe in the last hour or so if yours cooks a long time)

#3 of 5 Old 04-27-2012, 12:31 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)

Salt is essential, we use only pink salt from Hawaii or Real Salt. If the stock is fresh (not concentrated yet) a mugful in the morning and with meals is delicious with some salt and fresh pressed garlic.

Like PP said, it's great for rice instead of water, and a good practice to serve mugs of broth or brothy soup with a meal, as it helps digestion and nutrient absorption. For simple tasty soup just shred some spinach and stir in some whisked egg/egg yolks for a light soup. Sometimes we eat this at breakfast.