Bag O Chicken Organs UPDATE recipe and food safety ? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 06-29-2012, 10:58 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I scored a free bag of chicken hearts and livers today (12 each!).

Now what?

Dh is very skeptical. I need tasty recipes/ideas where they are not giant whole organs (a chicken heart is bigger than I thought!) and LOOK like hearts and livers. Like hidden hearts/livers! I'm not opposed to splitting them up into hearts in one recipe and livers in another or grinding them--should I just grind it all up and sneak into rice or ground beef or gravy? It must taste good! eat.gif

Rinsing them gagged me out a little and I had to keep telling myself, "it's just meat, it's just meat" lol.gif I am still an organ meat newb!

Happy and in love with my family!
#2 of 5 Old 07-01-2012, 01:33 PM
Administrator

Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)

Bumping in case anyone has any input for you.  The only thing that comes to mind is something like gravy or sausage...which is probably not helpful. LOL

winner.jpg Adina knit.gifmama to B hearts.gif 4/06  and E baby.gif  8/13/12 (on her due date!) homebirth.jpg waterbirth.jpg

#3 of 5 Old 07-01-2012, 03:08 PM

For the hearts.....I recently made a batch of creamed chicken over biscuits and was able to 'sneak' in some very finely chopped chicken hearts  :)  I chopped them in little bits about the size of my veggies (I used red peppers, celery, onion,corn, peas...) and also used chicken thighs (dark meat).  I didn't mention they were in there, and no one noticed.  Everyone thought it was delicious and had seconds.

I was thinking that they might also fit in similarly to a chicken veggie fried rice.