How to choose a raw dairy farmer - Ann Arbor, MI - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 09-26-2012, 08:49 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I'm new to this but I've found 3 farms in the area that allow you to "lease" a cow in order to get raw milk. Should I visit each farm? Does it matter how long they have been in business? The one I'm looking at has only been in business for 8 years and it's a person who started farming cows for raw dairy because they themselves starting drinking raw dairy and it helped them with various health issues. I don't know if this is a good or bad thing, seems like I should find someone who has done it all their lives or something? Also, their website is terribly written, confusing sentences with poor grammar, which gives me a bad impression. I don't know anyone else who drinks raw milk so I can't get a personal recommendation.

#2 of 4 Old 09-26-2012, 09:01 AM

i would visit.  8 years isn't bad. my dairy has been operating for 7, and they're dedicated and amazing and young and idealistic and enthusiastic and it is the BEST milk possible.  it's about trusting those who are doing the milking and monitoring the health of the animals.

many farmers don't do well on web (i might help a few out) but it doesn't mean they're bad farmers.

visiting, seeing their methods, knowing their dedication to sanitization and healthy animals are the key parts, but it's hard to tell sometimes.  so if you're able to try it (not give it to kids first, but have adults drink it and have HONEST reactions to taste, and any thing else)- i had a friend try to start off of a dairy that was't the best, and he just had a gut response that he would drink it, but not trust it for his kids.  he then moved to a certified raw milk dairy (different state) and also learned a lot and was glad he had been cautious.  he's got his own cow now.  ;)  i'd drink his milk.  

countryangels likes this.