Baby's first food - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 03-11-2013, 08:47 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi! I am new to this page, and joined because my first baby is about eight weeks old, and the prospect of solids is looming ahead. All I hear about from anyone is rice cereal. My pediatrician said that I don't have to give it, but it is what is most recommended. It seems totally counter intuitive to me to make my child's first solid food a processed substance. I feel much more comfortable starting her with veggies and fruits, And perhaps more natural complex carbohydrates. Has anyone else run into this conflict? If so, what did you start feeding your baby and when?
darwinNJ likes this.
#2 of 9 Old 03-11-2013, 08:49 PM

Yes, yes, yes. Rice cereal is nutritionally void. Check out the white out campaign to educate parents on the pitfalls of it all together. Also, world health organization recommends to wait until 6 mos to start solids. I used baby led weaning and gave my twins food off my plate from 6 mos to begin to play with. Eventually they put it in their mouths. They've been in control since day 1 and are now eating a nice variety of foods as they approach two years old. Check it out if your intetested in another option for feeding! Message me if you want more info wink1.gif

Momma of twins born in May, 2011. 32 weekers. Loving every minute. Breastfeeding still going strong as toddlers after crazy rocky beginning with bottle feeding in NICU for a month. Would love to share any information about how we made it to breastfeeding today with anyone in need of support  

#3 of 9 Old 03-12-2013, 03:56 AM