brining meat - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 01-03-2014, 10:43 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)

my neighbor brought me back a deer ham from his recent hunting trip. its my first time cooking venison (I've eaten it before once or twice) so I googled it and found that I should brine the ham. I had to go and buy a huge stock pot to fit it in, and I mixed up the salt water this morning and left it on the counter. 

should I have put it in the fridge? the pot absolutely would not fit.  its been in the mid 60s in my house all day.  fwiw, the meat is super fresh and was kept chilled for the 10 hr drive home. it was never frozen.  my neighbor brought it next door to me in an open cardboard box.

my intention was to let it sit in brine for 24 hrs and then either slow roast or slow simmer. haven't decided which yet.  am I gonna kill all of us bc of room temp brining?

Bring back the old MDC
#2 of 5 Old 01-06-2014, 08:44 PM

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)

It looks like your post might have been missed, so I'm bumping it up for attention. :bump: Anyone have recommendations to share?

hh2.gif Head over to the Holiday Helper forum and be a part of this wonderful Mothering tradition! joy.gif

Wondering about Mothering in general? Check out Mothering's User Agreement! smile.gif

#3 of 5 Old 02-23-2014, 07:02 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I really have no idea having just brine d my first rabbit (in the fridge) a couple of weeks ago.

My guess is that the salt water brine is in and of itself not able to breed bacteria because of the salt.  In addition the meat will be cooked through, right?  I don't think I would keep it a room temp overnight... I would put it in the tub with some bagged ice if you are brinning longer than a few hours. 

#4 of 5 Old 02-23-2014, 08:03 PM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)