A ? for NT users - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 10-13-2005, 07:40 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am trying to make the creme fraiche, but I don't know exactly what she means by a warm spot. Does that mean warm in the oven, or warm as in room temp.? I am new to all of this, so sorry if it is a dumb question . TIA!!!

Meghan : Kayla~ 10/19/04 Jack~ 5/27/07
Evelyn~ 10/9/10

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-13-2005, 08:16 PM

I have no idea, sorry! But I can tell you, it's not a stupid question. . . the more you use that cookbook, the more you'll realize she doesn't make herself clear!

And that goes for _The Maker's Diet_, too! Typos, errors, etc. . . it's so unfair to those of us who are culinarily challenged.

I'm impressed you're making creme fraish (sp?) Please tell us how you did it when you get it figured out.

MisfitMama
Old 10-13-2005, 08:32 PM

"warm spot" would refer to about 80 degrees temp. So that could be room temp if you live in a warm climate, but for most people you'll have to find a suitable place. Try in the oven with just the light on, on top of a water heater, someplace that gets warm but not blazingly hot otherwise you'll kill all the enzymes.
Old 10-13-2005, 11:09 PM - Thread Starter

Thanks !!! I put it in the microwave above the stove. I am cooking stock right now, so it should stay nice and warm in there overnight. I can't wait till tomorrow, so I can check out my creation .

Evelyn~ 10/9/10

Old 10-14-2005, 11:00 AM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
For your micro above the stove -- is it an above the range deal, with the fan and light on the bottom of it? I discovered by accident that the microwave gets nice and warm if you leave the light under it on. That's where I soak my oats over night. They are nicely warm to the touch in the morning.

Mom to DS(14), DS(12), DD(9), DS(6), DS (4), and DS(2)  

***4***8****13***17***21****26***heartbeat.gif****35****40