Thought I would start the May thread!

Happy Mayday everyone!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 815 Old 05-01-2006, 03:28 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I will post up my square recipe sometime in the next couple of days. I keep meaning to and get side tracked with 200 other things! Sorry to all that have been waiting on it.
#3 of 815 Old 05-01-2006, 03:50 PM

Happy May everyone!

Has anyone ventured into making fish stocks? I found wild pink salmon (frozen whole w/o the head and intestines) yesterday at the grocery store for $1/lb. I bought two fish, they were both smallish. I was thinking of baking them, then using the carcasses for broth, though I have never done this before. Words of wisdom for a beginner?

Mountain mom, I'm looking forward to seeing your recipes! I've been experimenting with nut/butter/oil bars lately. Mine are yummy, but so far too crumbly.
#4 of 815 Old 05-01-2006, 03:57 PM

Amanda Rose, author, Rebuild From Depression: A Nutrient Guide. Don't miss this opportunity to build a business telling friends about probiotic foods and grass fed meats: Beyond Organic Review.

#5 of 815 Old 05-01-2006, 04:02 PM - Thread Starter

The only advice on the fish stock is to open window or two or do it outside!

The smell, oh the smell.
#6 of 815 Old 05-01-2006, 04:12 PM

subbing!
#7 of 815 Old 05-01-2006, 04:17 PM

I believe Fallon says NOT to use oily fish like salmon. That being said, I've only done it with salmon bones and part! It turned out great, though does make your house smell. Dh does NOT like fish and fishy smells, BUT I've made soups with the fish stock and he had no idea it was in there (I guess I used enough flavors to cover it up?). I've also done it with Bonito broth. Not as good, but a good substitution when you need some.

Zia+Lane+Sonora=Mi Vida Loca! :
#8 of 815 Old 05-01-2006, 04:24 PM

Subbing. I've got the NT book on order and hope to be joining these discussions soon!