NT question about beef bone broth - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-29-2006, 03:02 PM - Thread Starter
 
ccasanova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Manifesting my next desire!!!
Posts: 1,485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
This is a question for the mamas that had made the beef broth from NT. How much broth was made from he recipe? It doesn't state that in the book. It will be the first time I make beef broth so I need to know how much bone to buy. I'm getting ready to order some beef for the first time from a rancher that raises grass fed beef but don't know how much of my order I want to make dedicated to making broth. So if the recipe in NT makes a whole lotta broth then I'll only get enough to make it once. But if it will make only enough to use a couple time in soup then I"ll want to buy enough bones to make broth about 3 times over. That way I won't have to pay all those shipping charges over and over again for broth. thanks mamas!
ccasanova is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-29-2006, 04:56 PM
 
cathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Central Coast, California
Posts: 5,727
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
moved to the new Traditional Foods forum

Cathe Olson, author The Vegetarian Mother's Cookbook, Simply Natural Baby Food, and LIck It! Creamy Dreamy Vegan Ice Creams Your Mouth Will Love.  
cathe is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 03:19 PM
 
spiderdust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 1,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
When I made it, it made a couple gallons of broth.

Bones freeze well, though. Go ahead and get a few so you'll have some in reserve!

Mama to Munchkin  and Chickadee ...and co-parent to 3 additional bundles of energy!
spiderdust is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 04:13 PM - Thread Starter
 
ccasanova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Manifesting my next desire!!!
Posts: 1,485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
so what size pot did you use? A couple gallons sounds like I would need a pretty big stockpot!
ccasanova is offline  
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off