Do you bake with honey? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 10 Old 09-10-2006, 11:24 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have been using up a giant jar of not-raw honey in my baking. It's almost gone and I'm wondering if I should buy more for use in baking. I use raw honey for smoothies but it's awfully expensive to be baking with. Does anyone bake with raw honey or is that just a waste? Would I be ok just getting some more organic honey for baking?
Thanks for your opinions!

: mama to 4 boys
: : :
#2 of 10 Old 09-10-2006, 12:07 PM

I use whatever hit my fancy at the time

I have a gallon of raw honey that used every morning for tea, kept on hand for treating burns,baking bread and whatever.

I also use sucant for baking, it does burn easily, and is not as sweet as proccessed sugar.

I am not too good at firguring out how much honey to put in a recipe though in place of sugar. Honey is so sweet.
#3 of 10 Old 09-10-2006, 12:13 PM

I use pasteurized honey for anything I'll be cooking. Just like, if I'm using a pint of cream to make a cream soup, I'll buy pasteurized (though not UHT) cream. Why waste the money on the good stuff when I'll be cooking it anyway?
#4 of 10 Old 09-10-2006, 04:46 PM

I use raw honey exclusively. Even if I'm gonna bake with it I feel better knowing that it was intact when I started. Silly, I know.
#5 of 10 Old 09-10-2006, 05:31 PM
RAF

I bake with honey. I am not sure if it is really raw or not, but supposedly it is. It is good quality honey, but it looks really filtered, so I wonder wether it was heated or not. I have baked with truly raw honey too, but not often, as I feel bad about it when I do.
#6 of 10 Old 09-10-2006, 08:36 PM