kefir consistency ... thick or thin? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 11-29-2006, 01:50 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I've been making kefir for a couple of months now and it's always had a thick-ish consistency ... I usally leave it for about 24 hours, but the last few weeks I've noticed the consistency isn't changing at all ... the smell is still the same, and the cream separates to the top with the grains like before ... I really have to remember to stir it more, anyway, nothing seems to have changed except it's now just like milk when I pour it out ... I'm so afraid I've killed my grains. Is that possible? thanks for your input
#2 of 9 Old 11-29-2006, 02:20 PM

: sounds about right to me. You don't want to compare yours to the store bought kind if that's what you're referring to. Most of the store bought versions that I've seen add powdered milk in to thicken it just like in yogurt.

For me the key is always the fizziness in my home brewed kefir. At first it's not so fizzy, but when I pour it in the mason jar and put it in my fridge then it's REALLY fizzy! Well...that and my grains continue to reproduce!
#3 of 9 Old 11-29-2006, 05:24 PM - Thread Starter

I've never had the store bought kind so not even sure what that is like. I've never had fizz in mine before, how long do you leave yours out? Does the change in weather make a difference? My grains have definitely reproduced, maybe I should get rid of some and see if they're still growing.
#4 of 9 Old 11-29-2006, 05:35 PM

Do you keep your kefir on the countertop and has it been cooler in your house over the past several weeks? I wonder if maybe it's just that it's been cooler so the kefir is taking longer to get to that 'thick' stage. You can try leaving it for more time and see if that helps it thicken up.

Also, I've noticed that if I swirl the grains + milk around in the jar at least twice a day that the resulting kefir is thicker.

Good luck!