Fresh, raw goat milk! WoW! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 12 Old 04-25-2007, 01:43 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have been drinking fresh, raw cow's milk for about 4 months and enjoy it, but yesterday my goat milk share started, and I tried a glass of it when I got home, and then another glass, and then a little later another glass, and then made myself stop and wait to have more today! Wow! It is so delicious! I've had goat's milk before, pasteurized from the store, and thought it was "goaty" tasting and unpleasant, so I'm shocked at how yummy this stuff is. I find it addictive like ice cream. Weird!

Think anyone would notice if I stuck a goat in my backyard??? Maybe it could help with my lawn mowing burden too! (That technically would benefit the subdivision, right?)
#2 of 12 Old 04-25-2007, 01:44 PM

It's hard to convince people, but I've told many, many people how different fresh goat milk is from the stuff they've tried at the store. I even gave some to goat-milk-resistent dh and he had no idea it was from a goat!

Zia+Lane+Sonora=Mi Vida Loca! :
#3 of 12 Old 04-25-2007, 02:29 PM

That's cool! I've never tried goat's milk. How does the taste of raw goat's milk compare to the taste of raw cow's milk?

Bookworm mom to three wonderful children. homeschool.gif
#4 of 12 Old 04-25-2007, 02:48 PM

wow, really? I hate the goats milk from the store, yuck! Im gonna try raw goats milk now for sure.
#5 of 12 Old 04-25-2007, 02:49 PM

It's gotta be REALLY fresh. It does turn goaty after five days or so. As for taste, it's similar. Only it's naturally homogonized, so no cream floating around. Which is good for dd2, who doesn't care for globs of cream when she drinks.

Zia+Lane+Sonora=Mi Vida Loca! :
#6 of 12 Old 04-25-2007, 04:36 PM - Thread Starter