Reading "Nourishing Traditions" - when is it wrong? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 02-10-2008, 06:54 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm just learning about TF and have started reading Nourishing Traditions. On this board i've occasionally seen references to errors in the book, and i wonder if those of you who know more can let me know ahead of time where this book goes wrong?

It does seem to be making a lot of sense, but i get a little suspicious when some of the footnotes have her own name on them...

thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-10-2008, 07:16 PM

I don't know a lot, but I despise the fact that breastfeeding is only recommended for 1 year with a goal of 6months! Ugh- even WHO says 2yrs min and if you're reading NT and persuing a TF lifestyle then IMO the longer the better!!!!! (she feels most BF moms are making inferior milk because of their nutritional status...)

Don't get me started...

Jen- married to best friend DH and mom to DS (8) , DD (5): 3 goldfish.gif, 3 chicken3.gif, and one great dog2.gif
Old 02-10-2008, 09:21 PM

Quoted: 4 Post(s)
About the only thing I've felt was "wrong" with her book is that some of the recipes didn't work out so great, and other cookbooks (Wild Fermentation comes to mind) may be better choices for selecting recipes.

I also strongly disagree with Sally Fallon about breastfeeding. I have no problems with her recomendation for homemade infant formula if supplementation is needed or BF isn't possible at all. However, SF seems to be unable to separate her own personal experiences with BF(she was a low supply mama) from general recomendations about infant feeding. Not all babies will do well with her schedule for introducing solids, although her suggestions will work well for SOME babies, (for example: hers.)