1/4 Cow - is it worth it? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 29 Old 02-25-2008, 09:37 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have the opportunity to get a 1/4 or 1/2 cow. 100% grass fed, certified organic, good price per pound. Thing is, I've never done this before. For those of you that have, do you like going this route? (usually I order specific cuts from the guy at the farmer's market whenever I want). Do you suggest going the whole 1/2? If I go 1/4, what 1/4?
#2 of 29 Old 02-25-2008, 09:48 PM

:
#3 of 29 Old 02-25-2008, 09:49 PM

Do you have the space to store it?

If yes, I'd get the largest share you can afford. Per pound, it's usually cheaper.

I can get grassfed beef at the store for $5-25/lb depending on cut. I can buy a quarter cow for something like $3/lb, and a 1/2 for about $2.50. That makes it so worth it.

Cristeen ~ Always remembering our stillheart.gif  warrior ~ Our rainbow1284.gif  is 3, how'd that happen?!?! 

We welcomed another rainbow1284.gifstillheart.gif  warrior in May 2012!! 

2012 Decluttering challenge - 575/2012

#4 of 29 Old 02-25-2008, 10:43 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
I got my first 1/4 steer in October-ish and have been very happy with it. The biggest downside is that I've realized that I like to cook with ground beef, and even filling out my cutting form so that I maximized my ground beef, I'm still running low. I've also had to learn how to deal with some new cuts (probably not in the most elegant way, but hey, it's been tasty).

Our rancher does split quarters, so I didn't have to decide which quarter.

I did this for affordability, but I think I like it, even with (or maybe because of) the challenges of learning new stuff.
#5 of 29 Old 02-25-2008, 11:11 PM

We started out with a quarter the first time we bought beef direct from a farm, and it was a great decision. Our farmer does mixed quarters, so you don't have to decide which quarter to get. Everyone gets a bit of everything.