Mothering Forum banner

Raw Milk that is unorganic

750 views 14 replies 11 participants last post by  WuWei 
#1 ·
I finally found a local farmer to buy raw milk from but the grain that he feeds the cows is not organic. He says that he does not feed them much grain but the stuff he does feed is unorgainc because it costs him too much to buy organic feed. Also, he does not use pesticides but spot sprays herbicides on the land. This is my only option for raw cows milk and I am confused if I should stick with Organic Valley whole pastuerized, homogenized milk I buy at the store or try the raw unorganic local milk.

Any opinions?

#3 ·
Quote:

Originally Posted by gardenmommy View Post
I would do it. Organic grain is very expensive. If the cows are not getting that much grain, if they are mostly pastured, I think it is fine. It isn't perfect, but I think it is a lot better than pasteurized.
Thank you for your input. I am new to TF and I would like to know WHY raw milk is so much better than pasteurized milk

#4 ·
Quote:

Originally Posted by gardenmommy View Post
I would do it. Organic grain is very expensive. If the cows are not getting that much grain, if they are mostly pastured, I think it is fine. It isn't perfect, but I think it is a lot better than pasteurized.

nak I agree, raw unorganic is a better option than organic and pasteurized.

#7 ·
That is what we drink, raw, not organic. Organic grain is about twice as expensive. My concern was if they graze mostly; our source of raw milk only does little grain, when it is dry.

All grain-fed is not as healthy of a cow. And pasteurized, organic would not be as healthy of a cow, imo. Pasteruized milk is sterilized of beneficial enzymes, probiotics and prebiotic microbials with the heat destruction. And the fats are artificially homogenized (generally).