lard free pie crust - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 of 12 Old 10-25-2009, 02:09 PM - Thread Starter
 
skeegan23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I know I could make one! BUT...

Does anyone know of a brand of pre made pie crust that doesn't use lard???

wave.gifMommy to Lacie (4yrs), Brighton (3 yrs), and Maggie (3mos). heartbeat.gif

skeegan23 is offline  
#2 of 12 Old 10-25-2009, 05:14 PM
 
vegemamato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: TX
Posts: 2,346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I think Whole Foods makes a vegan crust (frozen) and I've heard that Marie's Calender and Walmart make vegan crusts (but don't quote me on any of those, since I really have no idea )

Trader Joes has a whole wheat vegan crust too..

mischievous.gif
vegemamato is offline  
#3 of 12 Old 10-26-2009, 12:21 AM - Thread Starter
 
skeegan23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Darn, went to Walmart today and their brand has lard in it... I will have to make it a point to get to Whole Foods or TJs... seems that I can't find a conventional grocery store that carries one!

wave.gifMommy to Lacie (4yrs), Brighton (3 yrs), and Maggie (3mos). heartbeat.gif

skeegan23 is offline  
#4 of 12 Old 10-26-2009, 11:48 AM
 
NC EcoMaMa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Most American labels are hard to read for vegetarians, but they do have one system on foods that make it a lot easier. Look for the word Kosher Parve and that will let you know it is vegan.

Happy Mum, Adored Wife, Loyal Friend, Triangle API Leader, Proud Vegetarian, Peace Loving, !
NC EcoMaMa is offline  
#5 of 12 Old 10-27-2009, 12:57 AM
 
nomadmom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: wandering again
Posts: 1,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by NC EcoMaMa View Post
Look for the word Kosher Parve and that will let you know it is vegan.
I don't know all the specifics, but I'm positive that parve does NOT = vegan!
nomadmom is offline  
#6 of 12 Old 10-27-2009, 01:31 AM
 
Ianthe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Logan, Utah
Posts: 6,793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I found a Marie Calendars pie crust a year or two ago in the frozen section that was vegan.. I haven't checked lately though.

stillheart.gif The Hippie & the Marine stillheart.gif  hh2.gif
My boys: S (4) & O (2) & Expecting #3 in Dec. 2011

Ianthe is offline  
#7 of 12 Old 10-27-2009, 01:46 AM
 
rhiandmoi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: San Jose CA
Posts: 1,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by nomadmom View Post
I don't know all the specifics, but I'm positive that parve does NOT = vegan!
Parve means that is neutral, so having neither meat (lard) or dairy (butter).
rhiandmoi is offline  
#8 of 12 Old 10-27-2009, 01:53 AM
 
nomadmom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: wandering again
Posts: 1,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhiandmoi View Post
Parve means that is neutral, so having neither meat (lard) or dairy (butter).
Right, but products containing fish (for example, kosher gelatin) can be parve. Not likely an issue when looking for pie crusts, but I didn't want anyone to mistakenly think that a product labeled parve was automatically vegan.
nomadmom is offline  
#9 of 12 Old 10-27-2009, 02:45 AM
 
eepster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: growing in the Garden State ............
Posts: 9,010
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by nomadmom View Post
Right, but products containing fish (for example, kosher gelatin) can be parve. Not likely an issue when looking for pie crusts, but I didn't want anyone to mistakenly think that a product labeled parve was automatically vegan.
Eggs too, eggs are parve. Fine for lacto/ovo or just ovo vegetarians, but not vegan, and honey is parve which most vegans won't eat, even chicken is parve, and that's not even vaguely veg*n or pescetarian (though it rarely shows up as a hidden ingredient.)

I know I've bought plenty of premade pie crust that were made with vegetable oil, I don't think I've ever seen ones made with lard (never been to Walmart except to use the bathroom once {long car trip we were kind of desperate.})

Timmy's Mommy WARNINGyslexic typing with help of preschooler, beware of typos
eepster is offline  
#10 of 12 Old 10-27-2009, 11:10 AM
 
NC EcoMaMa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
http://www.jivdaya.org/kosher_parve_...ation_what.htm
http://judaism.about.com/library/3_a...mmons_eggs.htm

If you are vegan you obviously wouldn't be eating eggs or chicken, but as general rule anything other than the fish, chicken or egg is going to be vegan. Most vegetarians and vegans don't touch anything with the word gelatin.

I should have worded this better. When looking at baked goods or the pie crust look for Parve.

It is the closes we have gotten to a veggie guide here in the states. Some countries put V's or suitable for Vegetarians. on all of their food labels. I hope we can get to that level one day.

Peace,

Jo

Happy Mum, Adored Wife, Loyal Friend, Triangle API Leader, Proud Vegetarian, Peace Loving, !
NC EcoMaMa is offline  
#11 of 12 Old 10-27-2009, 12:34 PM
 
nomadmom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: wandering again
Posts: 1,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
[QUOTE=NC EcoMaMa;14584763I should have worded this better. When looking at baked goods or the pie crust look for Parve.[/QUOTE]

I knew that's what you meant. I was just thinking that maybe someone new to vegan eating might take it to mean that all pareve foods are vegan.

Yes, the labelling in the U.S. is tricky. I always read the ingredients if it's a product I'm not familiar with because animal ingredients turn up in the most unexpected places!
nomadmom is offline  
#12 of 12 Old 10-27-2009, 01:19 PM
 
NC EcoMaMa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
The freakiest one for me is mono diglycerides. Unless it says vegetable on it, it is a no in our house.

Thanks for fixing my thought btw. I forget that those new to veggie don't know about gelatin and other hidden treasures.

Happy Mum, Adored Wife, Loyal Friend, Triangle API Leader, Proud Vegetarian, Peace Loving, !
NC EcoMaMa is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Drag and Drop File Upload
Drag files here to attach!
Upload Progress: 0
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Mothering Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off