new to the "vegetarian" world...any tips? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 3 Old 11-30-2010, 02:14 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)

So, I used to eat whatever, then I couldn't stand red meat anymore, and I started consuming less and less chicken/fish. I had long since not liked the idea of eating meat, but I didn't know how to stop- I mean, what would go with our veggies and side dishes? LOL.

Recently, a friend of mine became a vegetarian and lost weight...so that motivated me to try it. I decided that for the month of Nov., I wouldn't eat meat- and I stuck to it. And now, well, now I can't imagine EVER eating it again. I hesitate to call myself a vegetarian, since I'm very new to this, but I'm pretty sure that's what I'll be.

So, my questions: What about your husbands and children? My house consumes less meat because of me, but I don't try to stop dh or my kids from eating it. Any great websites or blogs for recipe ideas? I've really branched out and been creative with recipes, but I'm starting to get burnt out. Also, any advice or words of wisdom to share? Thanks.

"Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect." ~Mark Twain

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 3 Old 12-04-2010, 04:04 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I've been a vegetarian for 16 years - DH eats meat, our DD (age 7) is vegetarian and DS (5 mo) will likely be one too.

I think it's different for every household. In ours, I don't cook meat - if DH wants it, he cooks it. (Usually outside on the grill b/c we hate the smell.) Sometimes we'll modify meals - so I'll have pasta with artichokes and he'll make a clam sauce and DD will eat plain. He eats tons of veg meals (bean tacos, pasta, etc) too.  Lots of veg meals are kid-friendly - pizza, mexican food, chinese, pasta.