Veggie vent - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 2 Old 04-16-2012, 12:53 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I don't post here much anymore as I'm generally not feeling the need for much support regarding my dietary lifestyle, but today is different.  I've been vegan for nearly 24 yrs and was o/l veggie for about three years prior to becoming vegan.  My children, 11 and 13, have been vegan or strict vegetarian their entire lives.  Dd13 is currently vegan, dd11 strict vegetarian.  We don't have a lot of non-vegan stuff in the house other than dh's meat so even my vegetarian child eats more vegan than not.  

I have a Masters degree in Public Health, have worked in nutrition education, and generally feel quite comfortable with our choices.  Plus both girls are very healthy, smart, and developing just fine.  So, I had to take dd11 in for a well check b/c she needs some forms signed for summer camp and I'm just massively irritated following this visit.  They go to a large ped practice and we generally try to see our same DO whenever we can who hasn't given me any grief about our different choices (co-sleeping and EBF when they were young, a few vaxes they've not had, etc.)