Looking for vegan moms - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 of 9 Old 07-16-2002, 12:39 AM - Thread Starter
 
Erin Pavlina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I wasn' t sure where to post this since we don't seem to have an all-vegan forum, so forgive me if this is a bit off topic.

I just launched a new feature on VegFamily.com... Diary Writers... where people share what it's like to raise vegan children. Since I know there are a lot of vegans on this board, I'm wondering if any of you would be interested in being one of the diary writers.

If you are, you can get more info about it at www.vegfamily.com/diaries/index.htm

Or email me at info@vegfamily.com. I'd love to have you.
Erin Pavlina is offline  
#2 of 9 Old 07-17-2002, 12:25 AM
 
rocketmom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: A Happy Whole Home
Posts: 665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I know there are vegans out there.....where are they?

You who vegans come out and play with Erin......
rocketmom is offline  
#3 of 9 Old 07-18-2002, 01:27 AM
 
TripkeHughes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Southwest
Posts: 1,225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Oh please, I'm a wannabe vegan and a failure at that. what am i missing? It seems that it isn't all that hard to cook vegan, but what I really think the problem is that I'm uneducated on the issue of what is really in the food anyway. Taking meat out is fairly okay, it only gets tricky when they have secret sauce that has secret meat stuff in it and don't tell you straight out. Sheesh! Here I was thinking I was all good at being a vegetarian because I could tell if there was a steak on my plate or not, but they start putting meat in sauces and hiding it and I am lost. What do I ask for? Same goes for the dairy. I think if I don't get milk, yogurt, or cheese I'm safe, but really they hide dairy in everything. How do I know what to look for?
TripkeHughes is offline  
#4 of 9 Old 07-19-2002, 02:00 AM - Thread Starter
 
Erin Pavlina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Experience and time is all it takes. Mistakes will be made, but they shall be overcome.

There's a list of animal ingredients on my website that people refer to really often. You can start there. http://www.vegfamily.com/lists/animal-ingredients.htm

Also, you can check out our list of vegan products. At least with this list someone has done the legwork for you. http://www.vegfamily.com/product-reviews/index.htm. Not an exhaustive list, but we add to it monthly.

Once you get used to eating vegan it's not too hard.

Whey and casein are the two main dairy ingredients that find their way into a lot of stuff. Especially whey. It seems to be in anything that is in powdery form (cake mixes, bread mixes, bread, ice cream...etc.)

I read somewhere that there's a law that prohibits manufacturers from dumping whey into the sewer system as it's 2000 time more toxic than raw sewage. Of course, that didn't stop the companies from putting it in food. "Oh, can't put it in the sewer? What are we gonna do with it? Hey, I know, let's turn it into powder and sell it as cheap filler to other companies. Heck, let's give it to them for free, otherwise we have to pay high fees to have hazmat take it away..." Brilliant marketing.

I digressed... it's late. Off to bed.
Erin Pavlina is offline  
#5 of 9 Old 09-10-2002, 11:09 PM
 
veganmamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Yikes, living w/ my ILs!
Posts: 4,538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm a vegan except someone snuck LARD into my so-called vegan muffin the other day!! Doncha hate that!!!
veganmamma is offline  
#6 of 9 Old 09-11-2002, 01:01 PM - Thread Starter
 
Erin Pavlina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
You mean it was labeled vegan but there was lard in it? Or you assumed it was vegan because of what the ingredients said and then found out it had lard in it?

I was at a famous mexican restaurant, who shall remain nameless, and I ordered their tostads with beans and no cheese or sour cream. Before I left the restaurant I had major stomach trouble if you get my drift and was in the bathroom for 20 minutes.

I come to find out that their beans have pork fat in them. When I said, "But it says on the menu that the beans are vegetarian." Waiter replied, "Pork fat IS vegetarian."

lordy.
Erin Pavlina is offline  
#7 of 9 Old 09-11-2002, 08:15 PM
 
veganmamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Yikes, living w/ my ILs!
Posts: 4,538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My friend made it from Jiffy mix and didn't notice lard on the label. I always appreciate when my friends try to accomodate my diet and they get pretty excited when I show them how to bake without eggs. Woops. She's forgiven.
Lauren
veganmamma is offline  
#8 of 9 Old 09-11-2002, 08:54 PM
 
OceanMomma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: south of somewhere
Posts: 2,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'd love to be a diary writer. I'm vegan, dd#2 ( the toddler is ), dd#2 ( the teenager ) is a vegetarian & dh is a meat eater.

My motto is always read the label. I recently had to go see customer services in a major supermarket over here because their vegetarian pizza, which was labelled as such, had animal fat in the list of ingredients on the label Stuff like that is OK for people like me who pathologically read the labels, but a major stumbling block for others who are buying stuff for vegetarians / vegans. Even soy cheese over here has casein in, so it's no good for people with dairy allergies or for vegan so what is the point ?
OceanMomma is offline  
#9 of 9 Old 09-13-2002, 01:04 AM
 
veganmamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Yikes, living w/ my ILs!
Posts: 4,538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I agree. I'm a label freak too, you kinda have to be. See if you can get Tofutti where you are, it's completely dairy free and their cheese singles actually melt!! they have so much yummy stuff, pizzas, cheese, ice cream treats, all kosher and dairy free. I LOVE them!!! No whey and NO casein!!

Lauren
veganmamma is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Drag and Drop File Upload
Drag files here to attach!
Upload Progress: 0
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Mothering Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off