Vegetarian Freeze Ahead - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 02-04-2005, 12:34 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hey ladies, I'm just getting started with the freeze ahead thing. I'm single and every time I cook I end up eating the same thing for a week! So, I've just started freezing things. Last night, I heated up my first bowl of frozen soup. But I'd love some recipe ideas for freeze ahead or once-a-month cooking for vegetarians. I've looked on the internet, but haven't found much.

TIA,
Kate
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-04-2005, 01:10 PM

:
Old 02-04-2005, 01:44 PM

I'm not a vegetarian, but what about simple Mexican foods. They seem to reheat really well. You could do bean burritos or enchiladas. You could precook veggie meat with seasoning and then heat it up and add it to salads or tacos. You can also precook onions and peppers together for toppings. Rice also freezes well, you could do all sorts of seasoned rice.
Old 02-05-2005, 12:09 AM - Thread Starter

Oh cool! Thanks! I didn't know you could freeze rice! That'll help a lot!

Thanks,
Kate
Old 02-05-2005, 12:40 AM

you can do so much!
here is a link with a few ideas
http://busycooks.about.com/library/r...eezevegrec.htm

some things I have frozen in the past are soups, mac n cheese (if you do dairy) lasanga, stuffed shells, enchiladas, burritos, french bread pizzas,shepards pie,muffins,etc.

I did alot of freezing before ds was born and will probably start again in a few months so I won't have to cook so much when it's hot this summer! (we are buying an extra freezer this time around too! yay!)

Blissful Mama to DD-(5), DS-(6) and someone new due in November!
Old 02-05-2005, 01:24 AM

Tofu Pot Pie from The Farm cookbook.
When moz. cheez goes on sale, we buy a ton and shred and freeze it. Then it's easy to just throw it on pizza, lasagna, etc. Those are things I like to make in the moment though to use up extra veggies