Does Hummus freeze well? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 03-29-2007, 10:36 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi,
My family eats a lot of hummus, so I was thinking of trying to make some. I would love to make a giant batch and freeze porions. Does anyone know if it freezes well or if you are just better off making one batch at a time?
Thanks
#2 of 5 Old 03-29-2007, 10:40 AM

If *you* make it strictly with tahini, yes you can. If you make it with tahini and olive oil (like I do), you can't.

And, yeah, I woud stick with just making a batch at a time. It is so good fresh.
#3 of 5 Old 03-29-2007, 10:57 AM

Wow. I was thinking the same thing the other day (If you can freeze Hummus).

Why can't you freeze something with Olive Oil in the recipe? (I am very new to baking, so excuse the "basic" question)

Thanks!!
#4 of 5 Old 03-29-2007, 11:55 AM

I just make a big batch of chickpeas periodically and freeze those. Then when we are nearly done with the current container I thaw some out. It takes less than 5 minutes to whip it all up in the food processor. BTW in the summer you cna do the same thing with basil for pesto - blend the basil and nuts, and then when you thaw it out add the garlic and olive oil (and cheese if you are so inclined) It's so nice to have homemade pesto in the winter!

I'm not sure the full reasons for avoiding freezing pure oils except that oil takes longer to freeze than foods that have water in them. It must mess with the mixture somehow.

treehugger.gif homemaker mama to jumpers.gif and stork-boy.gif due in March

#5 of 5 Old 03-29-2007, 02:54 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by mllrym View Post
Wow. I was thinking the same thing the other day (If you can freeze Hummus).

Why can't you freeze something with Olive Oil in the recipe? (I am very new to baking, so excuse the "basic" question)

Thanks!!
Sorry I wasn't a little more specific in regard to the olive oil.