If you swaddled past 3 months--arms in or out? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 09-03-2011, 12:12 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

For the past week and a half, my formerly good-sleeping DD has been in the throes of what I can only think is the 4 month sleep regression (she's 19 weeks). Overnight, she went from doing an 8-hour stretch to waking every 2 hours and being much harder to settle.

We had recently stopped swaddling and I'm wondering if swaddling again would help with the restlessness. Except--while she's not rolling all the way over yet, she is rolling on to her side, and I'm worried having arms in would be a safety issue were she to flip onto her tummy? If we did arms out, I'm not sure it would really make any difference in her sleep.

What do y'all think?

Fiction writer by training, writer/editor of anything anyone will hire me for by trade. Me + D=my girls E (4/2011) and little N, 1/2014.

#2 of 9 Old 09-03-2011, 08:12 PM

DD2 loved swaddling and I kept both arms in until 6 months (actually let her legs out before her arms because she got too tall). I don't know that it was safe. It actually probably wasn't safe. But she stayed asleep (on her back) as long as she was swaddled tightly, even after she could roll. The entire time she was swaddled she slept a minimum of 6 hours straight, usually 8+. As soon as she became too big (strong) to remain swaddled she stopped STTN because she sleep crawls/stands... in our case, swaddling definitely, definitely helped with the restlessness. If I could figure out a way to safely go back to swaddling now (11 months) I would :) 

I don't know what to tell you... she probably WOULD sleep better if you went back to swaddling, but it is generally considered to be unsafe to swaddle once they can roll? My husband is a pediatrician and he forced me to stop swaddling at 6 months because of issues with hip development.

daughter #1 10/13/07
daughter #2 10/08/10