I am done cosleeping and/or Get this 5 year old out of my bed. - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 07-23-2012, 02:07 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am all for family bed and cosleeping. We have 4 children and they have all been in our bed since birth. We would gently transition them to their own beds when we (dh &I) and the child seemed ready. That was until child number 4. She is 5 years old, about to start kindergarten
And she will not leave!!! I have been sleeping with a child or 2 for almost 14 years and I am done. I want a full night sleep. I want to not be kicked, hit and scratched all night long. I don't want to live in fear of being head butted. I want to wake up next to my dh. Dd will fall asleep in her own bed but within about 2-3 hours she wakes up and comes to our room and spends the rest of the night making dh and I miserable. We have tried talking about it, we tried reward chart and if she slept in her own bed for a week she would get a small toy, she slept in her own bed for the week and then slowly started coming back. I've even tried locking my bedroom door as a reminder to her that she needs to go back to her own bed. She just stands and screams and kicks the door until we let her in. We've tried walking her back to her own bed and she'll get back in and fall asleep, but be back in our room within a half hour and this will go one all night. I don't know what to do. I want this the be over by the time school starts so we can all have a good nights sleep. If it wasn't for the fact that dh has to get up and go to work in the morning and there are other kids in the house sleeping I would just lock my door and ignore her all night till she figures it out, I'm that tired of cosleeping.

I'm just hoping someone has an idea I haven't thought of yet.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-23-2012, 02:33 PM