How to use Arm's Reach Co-sleeper? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 01-06-2013, 03:01 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I am very new to infant care, pregnant with my first baby. I understand that most moms co-sleep by having your baby IN the bed with you, correct? :) But my question is about the Arm's Reach Co-sleeper, so hopefully this is the right place to ask! I also know nothing about breastfeeding, though I plan on bf'ing exclusively. I am 20 weeks so I have time.

Anyways, in the description for the Arm's Reach, it says that you can nurse in bed, without having to get up. My question is, are you nursing laying down on your side, or do you sit up? I can't really "picture" nursing laying down, and never knew you could!? :) Or is the assumption that you sit up in your bed? Which works out better for baby?

Thanks for any guidance.....I know this is a very freshman question!

If anyone would like to answer another.....so after nursing in the middle of the night, how long does it take for the baby to then need a diaper change? Do you just fall back asleep, and whenever you wake up again is when that happens? :)

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-06-2013, 03:40 PM

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)

Hi there! No question is too freshman around here!!

We didn't use an 'official' co sleeper, just a crib with one side removed (same basic concept). We had the baby in the crib portion and then would pull him/her over into bed and nurse lying down--(this is easier than you think---one of your arms just goes up next to your head and you sleep on your side while nursing)--then kind of roll the baby back over to the crib. I feel like I did a lot of rolling in those days--baby on my chest and roll over!  In the early days when baby is pretty tiny I probably sat up more but then as they get more 'sturdy', I laid down most of the time and went back to sleep while baby nursed.