Weaning 3yo? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 01-10-2013, 12:42 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I've been nursing for 9 years straight.  Starting with my oldest, who nursed for 3 years, until I gave birth to my second, and the same story for him until I gave birth to my 3rd, 3 years later.  We have co-slept all along, my oldest is now in his own bed, but my almost 6 year old and my almost 3 yo are still in bed.  I am ready to be done with nursing.  I want my boobs back!  The first two naturally weaned through my pregnancy and then didn't want any of the "new milk" so stopped completely at that point.  I am not pregnant now, and don't plan to be again :), so there is no natural stopping point for my youngest.  I am resenting the fact that he is waking up and yelling at me "nurse!"  It really gives me that icky feeling at this point.  I barely have any milk left, he wants to do it more for the comfort of it.  I would love to just cuddle!!!!!  Does anyone have any recommendations for me??  How do you wean a child when you really want to be done?  He doesn't reallly nurse at all during the day anymore, it's just before nap and bed, and during the night.  

#2 of 6 Old 01-10-2013, 01:07 PM

Quoted: 9 Post(s)

I stopped with dd at 2 1/2.  We built it up for a month before we had travel plans and told her that once we got back from NJ, we would no longer nurse.  We talked about it in such a positive way expressing true excitement that she was getting bigger.  She actually gave up on her own during our trip and did not nurse the last 2 days of travling.  It was much easier than I had thought it would be because I had nick-named her "the boobie monster".  She loved nursing!! I didn't have much milk left either at that time and I knew she was mostly nursing for comfort.  Her morning nurse was the last to give up...but it all went so smooth to my surprise.