Family bed to toddler bed to own bed...how do you make the change... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 3 Old 03-07-2014, 02:51 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

My almost 2.5 year old has this routine:

nurse, delach, cuddle in rocking chair, placed in her toddler bed to start sleeping

- wakes up 3 hours or so later, I will rerock or if I'm in bed- bring her to bed and she falls asleep (no nursing)

- wakes up at 2am or so- wants to nurse, I say no (we have night weaned mostly), she asks for a snack, I give in and let her have plain nuts and water, we rock.. fall asleep and return to family bed.

- she nurses at 4:30am and we wake up at 6am...to get up for the day....sometimes there is a nurse at 5:50am...

I am finding our queen bed is getting crowded and my body is aching due to ackward positions while sleeping to accommodate her.  I work full time as a teacher so it has been difficult to make any changes until a natural break - spring break is coming up.

I know if I cosleep with her in a single bed I could probably slip away--- buuuut wouldnt' she just wake up again???

hubby will not allow for a single bed to be placed beside our bed or in our room.  She has a room on the next floor down (only option)- with a single bed- dressed and almost ready to go......

Should she be 100% weaned before transitioning to her own bed?  Should I just keep on trying to place her in her toddler bed in our room (like a crib missing one side on the lowest setting)?  She tends to fuss and cry if placed in that bed awake ever....

Anytime I try to make a change it results in me staying up rocking with her while she cries and settles back down.......

I cannot co-sleep in the toddler bed as it can't handle an adult and toddler in there!!

We try to do attachment style parenting ----- but now where do we go from here???