Mama of 6 mo needs sleep support - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 33 Old 04-04-2014, 10:39 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Hello mamas, I am new to the mothering family & I think I just need a little support. Most of my mommy friends are rested with their babies in cribs & they bottle feed, let them cry ("because thats what babues do") etc etc & boy do I feel like an outsider. Here i am nursing on demand (a lot!), cloth-diapering, babywearing & bedsharing, My DS from day 1 would not sleep anywhere but on my chest & that's where I felt he belonged so that's where he stayed. Despite all the negative feedback I got from my mother, MIL, & everyone else chiming in that he'll never sleep alone. I tried the swing, we'd get a few minutes, tried nursing/rocking until asleep then putting him in rock and play & that worked for a bit but this little man wants to be attached to me. And I, to him. So what is the problem?
Constantly defending myself is wearing me down & creating serious doubt that I'm doing right by my child. Am I following my instincts or is it my anxiety about never wanting him to be hurt/scared/alone hindering him? He doesn't sleep well, up every sleep cycle (either 90 mins or lately 45, how can he possibly be rested with all that waking up? I know I'm not!) just to snack/ latch on & go back to sleep. Same with naps & I wonder if he'd sleep better in his own space but i've tried the pack & play next to our bed or even just next to me on his back (instead of on my arm) but he wakes up, seemingly startled, within minutes. I now have to go to bed with him at 7:30 & though my husband has been very supportive we do miss our alone time. Has anyone else been in my shoes? Any advice? I'm reading Attached at the Heart & I've done some other reading to feel normal but my mind still spends a great deal of time worrying..