nap waking - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 01-02-2003, 12:16 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I've read lots of threads about nightwaking, but I haven't seen anything about NAP waking. In addition to frequent nightwaking (which apparently is normal for a bf co-sleeping toddler, judging from all the threads I've seen), my 17 m/o DS always wakes up at least once or twice during his nap. When he does I nurse him back to sleep.

Some days it doesn't phase me. But sometimes, especially when he wakes up multiple times (up to 6 or so when teething), it really wears on me. Some days I really feel like I'm at the end of my rope. And I don't see an end to it because he's very dependent on nursing to get to sleep. I'm just beginning to investigate whether there might be a medical cause for all this waking, but I don't think that's the case.

Has anyone out there had this experience??

Thanks,
Tracy
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 8 Old 01-02-2003, 01:50 AM

My DS isn't as old as yours (9 mo) but he's always done this. He's now in a 2 nap a day schedule, anywhere from 2-3 hrs total per day, but I usually have to get him back to sleep about every half hour during his naps. Until he was about 6mo either DH or I always had to hold him during his naps because he woke up so frequently. At night he's better but he still wakes up pretty frequently.

I have noticed lately (didn't happen earlier though) when I take a nap with DS he sleeps much better and doesn't wake as frequently, maybe once during the nap? But it's not easy to always take naps together! Sorry I don't have any advice, I could probably use some myself.

DS 4/2002 REPlaySkateboard04HL.gif
DD 3/2009 toddler.gif
#3 of 8 Old 01-02-2003, 12:22 PM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
#4 of 8 Old 01-04-2003, 11:22 PM