Help! Transitioning from co-sleeping to crib. - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 15 Old 02-03-2008, 10:46 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Please, please help. I cannot continue co-sleeping with 13 month old DS. It has become DANGEROUS, I'm not kidding. He's always been a terrible sleeper, and now that he's big, he can really do some damage. I currently have a black eye from him throwing himself around when he can't/won't go back to sleep. I've had fat lips too. I feel like I need to wear a goalie mask to sleep!

I also cannot keep nursing him all night to pacify him. I NEED some sleep. 3 yo DD gets up early, so there's no sleeping in even if DS did. My husband does NO nighttime parenting (and we're separating anyway). Naps for me are not an option as I'm a f/t student. So please don't suggest that I keep nursing him all night (I'm willing to do 1x/night or so).

Current typical night:

Around 8 pm: Nurse DS to sleep, I put him in crib

Approx 11pm: DS wakes for first time, I bring him to bed w/me (he wakes up crying/fussing in the crib), and he usually goes back to sleep *pretty easily* no nursing

Between 1 and 3:00 am: Let the waking/thrashing begin. He wakes, thrashes, yells, fusses, etc. I pat him, rock him, sing to him, pick him up, put him down, etc., etc. He'll basically only take cat naps from this point on.

3:30 am: I nurse him. This settles him while he's nursing, but after he's done, it's cat napping again. Anything wakes him (so transitioning him to the crib would be tough) and he continues to get angry while I try to get him back to sleep.

Between 4:30 & 5:30 am: I usually nurse him again. By about 6 am, I can usually get him back to sleep, and then he would actually sleep reasonably well for a couple of hours. BUT somewhere between 6:30 & 7, three year old DD wakes, comes into my room, and invariably wakes him up. So my exhausted day begins.