Memory Foam safe for baby? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 29 Old 03-06-2008, 11:01 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Is a memory foam mattress/mattress pad safe to co-sleep on w/ an infant? I'm thinking about factors other than the chemical issue (which I realize is something to consider) - more like, would the baby sink too far into the mattress and have breathing issues? I googled but can't find a satisfactory answer...what I did find was several crib mattresses made w/memory foam, which makes me think it's maybe okay, but that is probably assuming that baby is sleeping on his back (which my babies rarely do).

thoughts? links? thanks!
#2 of 29 Old 03-06-2008, 11:33 PM
Xoe

I'm not giving you the o.k. on this issue-- as I'm no saftey expert. However, I have a memory foam topper. After the off-gassing smell disappeared, I allowed my DD to co-sleep with me. I have not seen any evidence that she would sink into the mattress. Right now she's six months and 16 lbs. She's doing just fine.

So that's just my personal experience with the memory foam topper that I have. Your experience with whatever product you choose may obviously differ.

xoe
#3 of 29 Old 03-07-2008, 12:03 AM

i have a Tempurpedic bed which is basically all memory foam. for us- it's fine. ds is 6 months and 18 lbs. he slept in a bassinet for part of the night when he was first born but now fully co sleeps with us and has since about 3 months old.
baby and i are light sleepers. i might be more nervous about it if we weren't. i don't see him sinking into the foam that much but he does sink into me or his dad way more than on a normal bed. that could pose a problem for some. i find we all sleep much better on our backs in our bed than in a regular bed though and for us that is more comfy (and safer) for co sleeping.
#4 of 29 Old 03-07-2008, 12:29 AM - Thread Starter