Unwanted advise - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 09-15-2008, 03:47 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi there! I'm new to this room, not to MDC though. I am DDC DECEMBER with number 2.

I have a question...
This is Dh's first bio child, and I have told him to take "advise" he gets with a grain of salt. He had mentioned something about us wanting to co-sleep with this one and they jumped down his throat and said 'to not do it bc it's a bad idea...we will have problems with the child later on with not sleeping in it's own bed.'

Now...I co-slept with my DD, now 6, for about 4 and 1/2 years of her life. Not every night, but a lot. And yes, when it was time for her to move to her big girl room, I did the whole up all night keep putting her back in bed thing. Which is normal.

But...if you keep doing it and not giving up, then it works. These parents that he works with that told him to not do it...IMO are lazy parents. And that is the reason why they say not to do it. Bc they never took the time to keep putting them back in bed, they didn't want to deal with it.

I do understand that there are kids that have a harder time getting back in their beds...but you do things that make them WANT to be in their rooms. EX: make their room the color/theme that they want; make them feel secure in their rooms so they are not scared...nightlight; have a sleeping buddy like a fav stuffed animal to sleep with. And I do not believe in puttig kids in time out in their rooms. Then they deffenatley don't want to go in there bc they think thats a bad place and that they are in time out.

So my question is, what do you say to parents like this that tell you to not co-sleep and BOND with your child...?? And do you mention the lazy aspect of their parenting, or just leave it alone?