Music Lessons for 5 Year Old - Clarinet? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 20 Old 05-18-2009, 01:26 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
DS is 5 1/2 and has been captivated by Peter and the Wolf. He now wants to learn to play the clarinet. I have no musical background and DH plays the trumpet and thinks piano is the way to start. But when DS has his mind set on something, it's usually for a very good reason and I trust his interests

Where do I start? We went to the music store and they said to start him on piano -- that he was too young to have enough wind. I'm not so sure about that one ....
#2 of 20 Old 05-18-2009, 01:29 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mommyabroad View Post
DS is 5 1/2 and has been captivated by Peter and the Wolf. He now wants to learn to play the clarinet. I have no musical background and DH plays the trumpet and thinks piano is the way to start. But when DS has his mind set on something, it's usually for a very good reason and I trust his interests

Where do I start? We went to the music store and they said to start him on piano -- that he was too young to have enough wind. I'm not so sure about that one ....
generally children don't have big enough hands to play a woodwind instrument until around age 9. You'll probably have a hard time finding a teacher that will start younger. The piccalo is mall enough and may work though.

Heather married to my highschool sweetheart 6/7/02 :cop: Mother to Dani age 14 and Timmy age 10 Nadia 1/29 :
#3 of 20 Old 05-18-2009, 01:41 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mommyabroad View Post

My son is also self-directed, although it proved shaky regarding musical instrument choice and DS. When he was 5 he was SET on violin, so we went with violin. It didn't work out, but that could very much be because we chose the suzuki route which involved a lot of pre-work before actually playing the violin.