Encouraging extra-curriculars (sorry LONG) - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 07-30-2009, 02:18 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
I've wanted to post this for quite a while, but I'm having trouble articulating exactly what I want to say. So I'll just jump in - sorry if I'm disjointed.

My 7-year-old DD refuses to do any organized extracurricular activities. My background is so different from her childhood that I'm having trouble figuring out my reasons for wanting her to do extra activities. I grew up on a ranch in the middle of nowhere. We didn't have any sports available, other than working on the ranch. If we wanted to swim for fun, my mom could drive us 20 miles each way to a city pool, which she did every week or so. Starting when I was nine, Mom drove me 20 miles each way for piano lessons, all the way through high school. And my parents paid for my B.S. in music, and helped me get my master's in opera. So they were very supportive of what I wanted to do - we just didn't have *any* resources in my town.

My DH, on the other hand, grew up in NYC, was in a youth orchestra, went to the performing arts high school, and did international piano competitions when he was in high school. And he hated it. He feels to this day like he had no childhood.

So here we are. Since we live in the suburbs, I want my DD to take advantage of the resources I didn't have. And DH, having been forced to be so concentrated, wants her to be free to sit around and watch TV/play video games all day. We don't argue about it - DH really leaves most educational decisions up to me.