Music Lessons - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 11-27-2009, 03:28 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am looking into starting dd, 9, in music lessons. She has specified an interest in violin over piano. Any tips on how to address perfectionism? What to look for in a program/teacher? Dd is a perfectionist, which frequently turns into frustration. I would like to pro-actively address that rather than waiting until she's been doing it for a week and throws the violin out the window....

TIA!

Michelle
#2 of 7 Old 11-27-2009, 03:46 PM

We just started violin lessons for my 6 yo perfectionist. I'm not a musician either though, so take my experience with that.

We chose completely private lessons rather than group, with the plan to add an ensemble later once DS gains some confidence in his own abilities. We also wanted DS to have an activity where he controlled the pace completely---unlike school, where he just goes through the motions as he flies ahead of his classmates. (;

So if he works and practices during the week, he moves on. If not, he moves more slowly.

We felt that a big part of success would depend on a match in teaching style. We interviewed a few teachers, and I think we have found a nice match. His teacher gives him a lot of praise for small things, and corrects him very, very subtly, cloaked in praise. And he has longish hair and is very cool/hip, so that helps too. LOL. I'm quite sure that the teacher is also gifted and a perfectionist by personality, so they get each other.
#3 of 7 Old 11-27-2009, 03:50 PM

(Ooh! I'm going 2 b in SD next week! My home town, hooray!)

DD has violin lessons at school -- is that an option?
A good teacher should b able 2 address perfectionism w/ U.
If it were me I'd use Yellow pages to start phoning around & chat 2 tutors, ask them about the perfectionism issue. Give a few different teachers trial lessons, C who U & Ur DD get along with.