What does it mean to have a gifted child? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 07-11-2011, 06:59 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi,

I'm new to the issue of giftedness--I'm a stay-at-home dad with my 1.5 year old son. I wanted some help in wraping my brain around the issue. I'm not sure if giftedness is an inherent genetic trait, where a child is just born that way, or wether a gifted child is someone who practices something more than other children and so is ahead of the standard benchmarks for their age. 

My experience says the second, but I really don't have experience with these kinds of children and would like to know what other's have to say, so I can think about the issue better. I hope this isn't controversial, I don't mean to start a debate, just a discussion.

Jeremy

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 9 Old 07-11-2011, 07:13 AM
Banned

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intellectual_giftedness

There are genetic (nature) and environmental (nurture) causative factors for giftedness, and some disagreement over the proportion of each.  Gifted children may be quite different in the way they learn and tackle problems and areas of interest; the differences go deeper than just numbers on a test might indicate. 

So yes, a gifted child might well show more intensity in learning a particular topic, although not on others of little interest. However, being intellectually gifted is more than just studying hard with a result of academic advancement.  A child may have advanced achievement and actually have a normal intelligence level.  This is one reason that there are different tests for intelligence and achievement.

#3 of 9 Old 07-11-2011, 09:21 AM

Quoted: 20 Post(s)