Help me with my bored 21-month old... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 19 Old 04-11-2012, 09:16 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)

Hi there,

This is my first time posting to this board. My son (21 months) is clearly advanced, if not gifted. He only really started talking at around 12-13 months but since then it has been complete sentences and an unbelievable vocabulary with him communicating really complex ideas and understandings. He easily memorizes long books and poetry that we read together and loves to recite them to himself. He can spell and read a vast number of words and can count into the hundreds (he does this for fun sometimes). He has been able to complete puzzles for 3-4 year olds since he was about 12 months old.

Up until now it's been pretty easy to keep him entertained and busy with books, he loves to be read to for long long periods of time and he does play with his toys. He's actually very good about playing independently. Even though I do bring new books home often and he likes this, he seems to be getting bored with things lately. He seems to be interested in longer books with more complex language, but he likes the themes of childrens' stories and of course the pictures in them, so I'm having trouble with finding longerpicture books with advanced language that he will find interesting. He is a huge fan of the longer Seuss books, but we are running out of those  .