Math Puzzles and Games - Recomendations Please! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 05-02-2012, 01:19 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

My DD is ten and in a fifth-grade GATE class. While she is not crazy-gifted in math and science the way some of her classmates are, she's good enough that she has no problem keeping up with the class math work and mastering new concepts. She says math isn't hard, but is kind of boring. A couple of years ago, she DID think math was hard and that she wasn't good at it, but I think this teacher and this program have done a better job with presenting concepts than the combined-grade class she was in from first through third.

I'd like her to have some experience with recreational math -- both to see what that something can be hard at first but if you stick with it it will come (before she hits roadblocks for the first time in higher math classes and is utterly undone and reverts to "I'm not good at it) and also to see that math and problem-solving can be really satisfying. Any suggestions for fun math-oriented puzzles and games? Books, magazines, and web sites are all fine. They can't have the slightest whiff of the "drill" about them, and because she is not wildly advanced I think the Martin Gardner stuff or Games Magazine is too hard. She has a pretty low tolerance for doing things she doesn't think she's good at, which is one of the things I'm hoping games and puzzles will help with a bit ... She really likes physics-based puzzles like Where's My Water or Meeblings (at coolmath-games.com), and she IS crazy good at those (much better than I am!) but I don't think she recgonizes those as "math." She's lukewarm on sudoku.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-02-2012, 01:58 PM

Quoted: 21 Post(s)