Are chapter books important? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 19 Old 10-24-2012, 03:59 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Well, duh! Of course would say they are--I'm an English teacher! But, my very bright 2nd grader has decided she's not interested in them any more. She's been tested, and her strengths definitely are in that area, but her interests are more in science, animals, and making things. Her teacher is sending her home with 15 minutes of nightly reading, and I asked if she'd like me to ask her teacher if a chapter book is OK, rather than the books that the teacher is sending home. DD said, no, she'd rather read books she can read in one sitting. 

To put this in ability context, she did an assisted reading of Harry Potter this summer--we read the first few chapters together, then she read the remaining ones on her own in the matter of a few days. She was tested this past summer with the Woodcock Johnson III, at age just-turned-7, her broad reading grade equivalent was fifth grade. She easily reads chapter books for her grade level (Junie B Jones, Ivy & Bean, etc.) in less than an hour.

I'm just wondering if I should let it lie, or if I can be doing something to encourage a love of reading. I've always loved to read--no one had to encourage me--so I don't know how to do this with her. I get so many really good readers in my class who hate to read, and I don't want her to follow that path!

Stacey teaching teens to read & write... Daddy plays ska, DD1 (7/05) loves trees & princesses, & DD2 (3/10) loves mommy-milk! Please get your kids tested for lead.
#2 of 19 Old 10-24-2012, 04:07 AM

I wonder if she would prefer non-fiction?