Anyone with gifted children please help answer my questions? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 12-12-2012, 12:06 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi I am a college student and I really would love it if people shared about their expierence having a gifted child? I promise not to share names I just want to know what it is like for you to be raising a child who is considered gifted

The questions I really need answered are

What exceptionality does your child have?

How old is the student and what grade level is he/she currently studying? 

What type of school setting does the student attend? 

If anyone could answer these for my paper it would be very helpful!

Thank You,

Meghan Wormwood

#2 of 5 Old 12-13-2012, 09:48 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by meghanwormwood View Post

Hi I am a college student and I really would love it if people shared about their expierence having a gifted child? I promise not to share names I just want to know what it is like for you to be raising a child who is considered gifted

The questions I really need answered are

Hi Meghan,

I'm not sure how your questions get at what it's like to raise a gifted child as I don't think you can tell much about parenting a gifted child based on the information you're asking.  Do you have follow-up questions you'll be asking?  Comparing age to grade level isn't a very meaningful statistic because many school districts refuse to allow grade skipping (although they may allow single-subject acceleration or other accommodations).