benefits of a Sensory Processing Disorder diagnosis? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 01-22-2013, 10:55 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I've been pretty hesitant to consider DS 'gifted' at this point... but we're having some (negative) issues in preschool, and now I'm looking for some advice on proceeding.

Some background;  I suspect he is on the lowerish end of 'giftedness' he has always been a very intense child, very observant, natural learner, natural conversationalist.  Always very precocious and prefers the company of adults/older kids to kids his own age - he intuitively discovered how to read and did a 3rd grade informal reading assessment for me yesterday... read with 90% accuracy and 85% comprehension... (I'm a former sped teacher).  He was formally taught his letter/sounds at 18 months.  The rest he picked up from our simple occasional word games and books.  He's always had an amazing logical/spacial sense as well.

He has some minorish sensory integration issues, or what I thought was minorish till we started preschool.  He isn't bored at preschool;  he has mastered all the curriculum basically but doesn't seem to mind, so that isn't an issue. The issue is when he has time to himself or group play time he gets overstimulated very quickly by the chaotic noises, can't handle when other kids interfere in his 'projects' and can't handle sudden changes in the routine.  His teacher has not handled him well, and now we are moving classes to one with a fantastic sped teacher who is eager to help us with his sensory issues.  She observed him independently and came to the same conclusion that DS IS NOT a bratty, spoiled child (the assumption by previous teacher) but has some real sensory issues.