Quirky gifted traits or something to worry about?? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 03-14-2013, 12:16 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi there...I'm looking for some input from some experienced mommas! DS is 4 years old and while he has not undergone formal testing I am quite certain he is gifted. He just started junior kindergarten this year and his teacher feels he likely is gifted and has recommended testing since he is working well above all the other children in the class.

DS is my first child so I'm very new to this developmental stage! There are many things about his personality that I know are different from his peers but I'm struggling to figure out what is a "quirky" gifted trait and what is something to worry about. Here are a few examples:

1. DS becomes intensely interested in different topics and enjoys learning everything about it.It will be the subject of interest for days or weeks and then he drops it and moves on to the next thing/topic. During the time of interest he will talk about the topic, read books about it, draw pictures on the subject, look at websites on the topic and ask me a million questions about it.
2. He has an AMAZING memory - he can remember the details of everything and it often shocks adults that don't know him well.
3. He has an incredible ear for music and memorizes songs quite easily. Consequently he sings ALOT and enjoys watching himself in the mirror while he sings and "plays" his play guitar or drumset and sings.