Mothering Forum banner

Sleep - Does anything help?

1K views 17 replies 13 participants last post by  sk8boarder15 
#1 ·
Like many gifted kids, my DS has always had "sleep issues." He seems to need less sleep than other kids his age, and at 3 he's still waking several times each night. I'm an elementary teacher, so we were home together over the summer. It seems to me that his sleep was much improved during this time (although still outside the "norm"), but now that he's back in preschool 5 days a week we're back to where we were.

This change could be due to any number of factors, but I'm beginning to wonder if the increased intellectual stimulation he got over the summer helped him sleep better. I've always focused on wearing him out physically, but maybe I need to try to wear him out in a cognitive sense too? (If that's even possible!) I've definitely let go of the idea that he should fit the sleep guidelines that are thrown around, but if I could get 30 or 45 more minutes of sleep each night, I'd take it!

Does this ring true for any of you out there? Anything that has helped your kid get more sleep?

#2 ·
:lurk

I am so interested to see what replies you get. Sleep has been a nightmare with DD2. She's about to turn 2 and has been a terrible sleeper. I definitely threw away the "guidelines" on how often and how much sleep she should be getting a long time ago.

She will be up at the crack of dawn, absolutely refuse a nap, go full force all day, resist bedtime with all her might, wake frequently for the first few hours and then often be up several times through the night. Rinse and repeat.

It certainly isn't for lack of physical exercise or fresh air or good food or routine....I had come across the idea that enough mental stimulation could be the key to sleep, recently. It intrigues me.

ETA: ^ read about it somewhere in this