Mothering Forum banner

goal of music lessons

968 views 15 replies 8 participants last post by  moominmamma 
#1 ·
I am just looking at perspective regarding how our family is handling music lessons. My oldest is in 4th grade and soon to turn 10 yrs old - she has been taking piano lessons since age 6. The lessons typically go year round although the teacher takes 4 to 6 weeks off a year to travel out of country. The lessons are something my oldest wanted as well as my husband who grew up playing instruments (I have no musical background at all). My DD enjoys the lessons and wishes to continue but like many kids is not keen on practicing. I'd say she practices 3 to 4 times a week - once or twice on the weekends with my DH (these being the most productive times) and maybe 1 or twice on 2 weekdays - playing each piece 2 times, maybe a time or two more if she likes it. Typically, her practice doesn't take her very long. Currently she's mid-way though level 3 in the Alfred books (4 books - lesson, recital, technic, theory). In theory, we'd like her to practice more but I'm not up for straining our relationship over this & we don't really see piano or music as a career avenue in the future.

Anyway, I recently had a discussion with a parent (whose opinion I typically respect) who questioned (nicely) our lackadaisical attitude toward practice since we don't enforce it every day & have no routine. I know I've read on this forum and elsewhere about how music can be so beneficial to discipline and the importance to establishing a routine especially for gifted kids. It has me questioning our approach and while I don't want to be the practice enforcer, I might consider it if I can be persuaded.

The money for the lessons is not an issue for us so I have so far been happy that my DD enjoys the lessons and seems to be making some progress (although I'm sure she could be making much greater progress).

Just looking for some perspectives on what course to take.

See less See more