Emotional Resources for possibly gifted child - HELP! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 04-11-2014, 10:00 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

My 7yo dd frequently struggles with anxiety, stress, and "feeling gloomy." The problem is that she understands and will ask questions about subjects she doesn't yet have the emotional resources to handle. I am just learning about giftedness, and she has a lot of the qualities of a gifted child. I am wondering if it is worth pursuing assessment to have her "diagnosed" as gifted. I hesitate because I think that gifted or not, she ultimately has to learn the same coping skills to work through her problems. 

Has anyone had an experience where finding out their child was gifted gave them unique tools for their child's mental health? We homeschool, so the education aspect isn't as concerning for me.

Thank you for any thoughts, tips, and feedback. I am new to giftedness and child psychology :)

: 10/06 : 10/09
#2 of 4 Old 04-12-2014, 07:29 AM

Quoted: 16 Post(s)
I have to say the most valuable resource i ever found for understanding my highly sensitive anxious ds1 was this forum! Check out older threads with similar titles to yours and you'll find a wealth of knowledge from btdt parents. Testing will probably only help if your tester happens to be a psychologist who is very familiar with this population, but these are rsre because gifted kids are rare! You might also check out the SENG website and books by Webb whose first name escapes me. You don't need test results for that! It always seemed so clear to me what i was looking at i never bothered until now (we have testkng lined up in summer to find out whether he qualifies for a gifted program). You max have a lot of lightbulb moments reading around here!

Mesleepytime.gifDH geek.gif DS1 10/06 drum.gif DD 08/10 notes.gifDS2 10/12babyf.gifwith SB ribbonyellow.gif and cat.gifcat.gif 
#3 of 4 Old 05-05-2014, 10:47 PM