Mothering Forum banner

Possible 2E? ADD or Overexcitabilities?

1K views 12 replies 6 participants last post by  Linda on the move 
#1 ·
Hi everyone,

this is my first time posting here. I wonder if anyone has any experience with 2E testing?

Here's my story:

My 8 year old son was just identified as gifted via the WISC-IV with Very Superior scores in many of the sub-tests. However, he had much lower scores (Average) for working memory and processing which translates to having problems with attention. The Psychologist gave me a brief overview of the findings and said he'll explain in detail in our next meeting. he did mention that "in other states" my son would be twice exceptional, gifted with ADD (he never used the phrase ADD but that's how I interpreted "attention issues" and "twice exception".

So here's my issue. I've never seen evidence of attention issues though he has pretty bad anxiety around math and new challenges that he feels like he "should" know. He saw a psychologist for six months and sees the guidance counselor at school for anxiety. The psych who tested him said that he didn't think he has anxiety just attention issues.

Is ADD diagnosed with average scores if the rest of the subtests are that much higher? So is it a relative score that earns you the distinction of ADD?

He does also have a very intense personality...in my reading I've come across Dombrowski's theory of 'overexcitabilities' in gifted kids...they are very intense in their reactions to things. For example, my 8 year old teared up when telling me about Martin Luther King Jr and how he's no longer with us, or he starts crying and practically hyperventilating if he's not happy with an art project or has to do a math worksheet.

I wonder if anyone has had experience with ADD being diagnosed but found out it was anxiety or just emotionalism?