Old souls - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 02-12-2008, 05:49 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Cambria is definitely an 'old soul' and has been since birth! She spoke very early, first words at 8 months, full sentences by one. She's excelling in preschool now. Are your gifted children 'old souls' as well?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-12-2008, 06:05 PM

DD#2 felt like an old soul. DD#1 nope. DS, nope.

DD#2, is 3 and self taught reading (basic level) , and will write simple stories to go with her pictures.
Tammy
Old 02-12-2008, 11:05 PM

My daughter is. My son is absolutely not. He's like the newest soul around! Both are gifted.
Old 02-13-2008, 05:32 AM

I'm curious what criteria people would use to decide if a child was an "old soul" or not. I've heard this term a ton, and never really seen a good explanation.

Thanks!

A writer/runner/thinker/wife with two daughters (11/02 and 8/05), one dog, three cats, seven fish, and a partridge in a pear tree... in Vermont.
Old 02-13-2008, 09:31 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by nancy926 View Post
I'm curious what criteria people would use to decide if a child was an "old soul" or not. I've heard this term a ton, and never really seen a good explanation.

Thanks!
Deep in post-partum haze when my daughter was six days old, I placed her in her bassinett so that I could take a shower. At the time, I was living in my parents' home. My mom and I stood for a moment, watching her little body, and I remarked, "It just seems like this girl can take care of herself." "That's ridiculous!" my mom exclaimed. "She's a newborn." I replied, "I know, but..." Clearly, I didn't really expect her to take care of herself. There was just something about her. She came into our world so calm and at peace, satisfied, just "knowing." It was instantly apparent she'd been here before...and I don't even really believe in that stuff.