BLW and preemies - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 10 Old 01-28-2009, 11:47 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
So, my DD is now 6 months adjusted and I'm wanting to BLW. I'm just curious to hear from other moms of preemies who have done BLW. What did you do about iron? Any foods in particular that should be emphasized? Anything I should be careful of? TIA!

note: x-posted in "Life with a Babe"
#2 of 10 Old 01-28-2009, 07:31 PM

Sorry, what's BLW?
#3 of 10 Old 01-28-2009, 07:55 PM - Thread Starter

sorry -- baby-led weaning
#4 of 10 Old 01-28-2009, 08:58 PM

Oh! Righto, I'm not very good with all the abbreviations.

We didn't learn about it until Erin had been on solids for a long time. In hindsight I wish I'd tried this first. I can't help but wonder if I'd let her be in control of what she ate that she might be more inclined to do it now.
#5 of 10 Old 01-28-2009, 11:29 PM

I'm not sure if BLW is the same as CLW. So keeping that in mind, here is my experience. It depends on the child. If you have a boobie monster of a kid (like my two) you may find yourself in the position of having weaning one at 4 years and 2 months and having the second child still nursing at 4 years and 1 month with no sign of stopping. (She alternately says she will wean when 5, or never, depending on the day.)

I have a friend who has a baby (full term though) who nursed until 11 months, and then just started slowing down a lot, and by about a year he had stopped altogether.

My own children, by the way, also transitioned easily to solid foods and liked a variety of solids right from the beginning. My oldest was snatching food off our plates by 8-9 months, so we started just grinding up whatever we were having and giving it to her. We eat meat, which she liked, so we weren't too concerned about iron.
#6 of 10 Old 02-07-2009, 03:07 PM